top of page
  • Writer's pictureDanielle

Week 1 Sept. 8-14: Leaving and Arriving

I come to you, one week from when I arrived, and I must say, I am tired! I haven't walked less than seven miles a day since arriving, and my knees are feeling it. As an introvert and a generally quiet person, I have been out quite a bit. Last night (9/16) I did not go out because, after a week of running around, I simply needed the night to re-charge. But now I feel marvelous and can write for the first time in a week.

The first to say is how much I love this university and my college. I have felt so welcomed and included, and I feel so blessed. Back home, the community is not really as active. I never knew who lived on my floor, and I certainly never just said hi to people out and about. Here you cannot walk more than a few feet (meters?) without saying hi or running into people. I genuinely love this atmosphere.

I have cooked, and it turns out the flat's kitchen is a great way just to meet people. People are always down to chat and will stand there while you do the dishes. Everyone seems to be generally interested in what everyone is doing.

Now I must be honest; I did experience culture shock. I really didn't think it would happen. Back home, they told us that culture shock was inevitable, and I brushed it off. I have traveled before, I speak the native language, and I have been to England several times, so I thought I had this country down. No. When I first got to my room, I broke down. I think most of my frustration came from forgetting England is very old. I was frustrated that the doors were hard to open, frustrated that the sink in my room did not have drinkable water. The level of independence we are given was also surprising. Cooking for myself was overwhelming, and I simply was hit with the fact that I am on my own. I was very jet-lagged, and since sleeping, I haven't felt like this. Spending time with people quickly sent those feeling packing, but I am sure they might stop by from time to time.

I have done so much since coming here. I have been to Covent Gardens, the Welcome Collection, the National Gallery, Borough Market, and so much fantastic food places. But something I haven't done is unpack. I have barely had a free moment to unpack my suitcase and I really should at some point.

Now, academics. In orientation, we were told how different the grades are, and I already knew this, but I will briefly mention here, so no one is alarmed. 80-100% is very rare. Anywhere from 50-69% is good. I won't go into the classifications of each grade but needless to say, if you see me excited about getting a 60% do not be alarmed! As someone who typically gets 90% on essays, it will be very weird to receive a grade back with less than 80%. I have looked at my classes, and I am already feeling challenged and so academically fulfilled.

Other random tidbits that I have no idea where to put:

  • It has been warm here. It had been sunny and nearly 80 degrees (I should be using celsius, but it is so hard!) every single day. I came prepared for 50-degree weather, and so I have been way too warm. England, babe, I was promised cool, cloudy weather. How the hell did I get a sunburn?

  • With credit cards, when you sign, they check.

  • My group, named Team Name, won 3rd place at trivia night, which was fun. We won chips (crisps), and it was simply a great night.

  • I wear Sketchers shoes when I travel or will be walking a lot. A couple British and Australian people have pointed out my Sketchers and have expressed the fact the Sketchers are apparently cool. Maybe it's just me, but I always thought Sketchers was a cheaper brand and mostly for children. But multiple people have mentioned my shoes, and it always surprises me.

  • I am noticing my accent. My liberal use of y'all is apparently strange to some people, but it is simply the most gender-neutral way to address a lot of people. Someone asked me if I was Southern and I was surprised she would peg a Colorado accent as that but who knows. Also, at ASDA, the lady at the pharmacy said my accent was "charming." Also, I have done the horrid thing or pronouncing Colorado as Color- RAH-do rather than Color-A-do. I can never forgive myself for this.

Now, onto the things I am loving.

  1. The public transportation. I got my Oyster card and have been using it ever since. There isn't a day that I don't pop into London (I cannot believe I can say that!) The Tube and bus are so easy to navigate.

  2. The food costs. The food here is so inexpensive! I got a drink, food and a side for £4! My group went to ASDA (British Walmart), and my entire grocery shop came to less than £ 50.

  3. I love how people are dressed. Everyone seems so put together, and I love this. Back home clothing is very casual, and here people seem to put effort into how they look.

  4. Having a window that is high enough to look over the stone wall and onto the street. Yes, the street can be loud, but I love it. Back home, we cannot open out windows, and I feel the air is so stale. I enjoy having a routine of opening the windows and looking out at the world.

  5. I adore the green spaces on campus. There are a few lakes and forested areas, and I feel so comfortable. I never realized how much I need nature. Coming for Colorado, nature is a given, but I never considered how I would feel without it. Being in London all day is fantastic, but not seeing a single tree or plant could be very draining. Coming back to campus is so restful and peaceful.

  6. I love my college so much. There are all sorts of Froebel events, and it truly feels like Hogwarts! There is such pride and history with each college and learning the history of Froebel made me this whole experience even more real. We were addressed as a member of Froebel, and there was no distinction between international students and regular degree students, and I felt I really am a student here and not just a visitor.

I have been meditating in the morning, and I came to a brilliant idea. I knew I was coming into this experience, wanting to grow as a person. While meditating, I realized I need to actively think about what I am learning about myself. So here are a few lessons I have learned.

  1. Taking time for myself. I have loved talking to so many people, but I learned I really do need to re-charge. We had the chance to do a photo frenzy, where you go all over London to take pictures, and I decided to go back to my building after the first location. I loved the people and going out, but I really need time to re-charge. Since that time, I have decided to actively look after myself even if it means missing events and having FOMO (Fear of Missing Out). My body and mind will thank me later. If I am to be my best and take in this experience, I need lots of water and nine hours sleep.

  2. I am actively practicing gratitude. I never want to take this experience for granted so I when I experience something good, I say out loud, how grateful I am.



Thank you for reading this week's post! When things slow down a bit, maybe I will have time to go more in-depth, but so far I am having a blast. Below are some pictures and if any of you are planning to be in England between now and December, let me know! Talk to you all next week!


EDIT: Very excitingly, just after I posted this the link to my ISEP Voices blog went live! Please check it out! https://www.isepstudyabroad.org/articles/908?fbclid=IwAR0Q4lwxdjqlqmHpi-PWjBXfIl0Jnc5NOdi4XmtZiyhrSy9GChJ-4NGgohw



19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page